Wednesday, 7 September 2011

The Wayfarer King by K C May

Book 2 of The Kinshield Saga

Beyonders, evil beings that materialize without warning from the realm of chaos, continue to invade the world of men, destroying everything -- and everyone -- in their path. The most powerful of them all, Ritol, has been confined for two hundred years inside the palace in Thendylath, trapped by King Arek's magic.

Having newly claimed the right to rule Thendylath as king, Gavin Kinshield has no money or army, but he's determined to protect his people from the beyonder attacks. With his new power of Wayfarer, Gavin has the ability to journey to all seven realms. To end the invasion, he must travel to the realm of chaos and summon Ritol. But can he escape before the beyonder champion kills him, devours his soul and takes his place as Wayfarer?

If wizard Brodas Ravenkind has his way, Gavin will never make it that far. Not only does Ravenkind want the throne for himself, he wants revenge for his cousin's murder too. After all, he made a promise the first time Gavin crossed him…

Book Description

I was looking forward to reading The Wayfarer King as I had reviewed the first in the series a while back. The first book “The Kinshield Legacy” told the tale of Warrant Knight Gavin Kinshield as he discovers that he is destined to be the Kingdom’s new ruler and his struggle to come to terms with his new role as King. Against him stands the wizard Brodas Ravenkind, who would steal the crown and rule in Gavin’s place. The first books sees Gavin defeat the plot to steal the crown and in doing so gathers a small band of trusted allies around him. It received an excellent 4.5 star rating which it fully deserved and I was looking forward to the continuation of Gavin’s story. There is always a worry when reading a sequel to a great book that the second will not live up to standards of set by the first. Thankfully I was not disappointed in the slightest with The Wayfarer King.

The series is continued in this book which is also the concluding part. This is a departure from the normal trilogy pattern that abides within the fantasy genre as this series is only two books long, although I am sure we will see more of Gavin in future works by K. C. May. There is plenty of scope for more tales of high adventure within this world created and so lovingly detailed by the author.

Once again there are no great surprises within the format of a fantasy novel, although the concluding scenes were not what I had expected. We get to travel briefly to other worlds and other times within this story and this gives us a tantalizing glimpse of K C May’s boundless imagination. She weaves her story through time and worlds with ease and skill while allowing the relationships of Gavin and his crew, as well as Brodas Ravenkind’s team, to draw our emotions deep into the story. At times we are left heartbroken, while at others we are thrilled with scenes of exciting adventure. Balancing these out is a love story which puts you at times on the edge of your seat.

The pacing and flow of the book is faultless, while the worlds described leap out of the pages and grow in detail within your mind. My only complaint and it’s only a minor one, is I would have liked a little more depth to some of the supporting cast. I know that the confines of a two book series leave little time for such details but I was left intrigued and wanting with regards to characters like Daia, Edan and Red. As I said this is a minor niggle that I am sure will be remedied in future books.

When I read an ebook that I have enjoyed I then buy the physical book version to add to my bookshelves. What can I say, I am a bit of a traditionalist. The Kinshield saga in defiantly going to make it to my shelves at the earliest opportunity. Awarded a worthy 4 stars.


Reviewed by Darkiss

No comments: